Up To A Challenge?

April 8, 2011


I have found many people who call themselves Christians that really do not seem to know why they are Christians or what it really means to be a Christian. They are whatever denomination that they are because of their culture, they were born into it or some friends invited them to their church.

My wife and I are examples of this. I was raised a Methodist, but had no idea who John Wesley was or what the creeds really meant. I sang in the choir, went to MYF (where the babes were) and loved the spaghetti suppers. If you would have asked me if I were a Christian, I would have told you yes because I was a Methodist. Wesley would have differed since I had once believed that we might be alien offspring long before the Intelligent Design movement started. I guess I was ID when ID wasn’t cool. Indeed, Christ might have been an alien if you asked me back in those days. Yet, when confronted with the Gospel in 1975, I found that I really did believe in the basics of Christianity whereas my alien stuff was mere intellectual titillation.

My wife went regularly with her aunt to a Lutheran church, but she did not know who Martin Luther was or ever heard of sola fide, sola gratis. sola scriptura, solis Christus, and soli Deo gloria. She figured as long as she was baptized as a baby she was in.

Both of us learned a lot about our faith while I attended Bible College. Once I started studying the Bible, I found where both our previous groups were right and also where they were wrong. It took me a long time to be baptized because after all, I was baptized already or so I thought. Many things I held as truth before were challenged by the Bible and I had to choose between the Bible or my conceptions and traditions.

Do you know that what you believe is true? Have you ever challenged or researched your faith? I challenge you to read through the New Testament slowly with a heart open to God and a willingness to admit if you or your particular group believes and practices something different than what is in the Bible.

I am fairly convinced that many groups would lose a host of members if people were like the Bereans of old and studied to see if what was being told to them was true. Does that mean they will all become Baptists? No, because not all Baptists hold to the Book either though they would say that it is their standard. The hope is that they would become true Christians, if they were not, or strong, mature Christians if they were already born-again.

Truth can be challenged, so take a walk on the wild side and see what the Word of God has to say about your faith? Better to challenge your beliefs now with an opportunity to change than to die and find out you were wrong. If nothing else, it will at least make you more knowledgeable of the Bible and that can never hurt.

Take the NT plunge and be refreshed! Maranatha!

Leave a Reply

