A Statistic’s Prayer

May 18, 2013


 

I did not believe in war

However, my life is no more!

I was downed by a shell running wild!

I left behind a wife and child

They sent her the medal from my chest

And laid me beneath the ground to rest.

They told her but, she could not see

That I had died to keep lands free.

At night, she cries and calls my name.

The child in her womb mourns the same.

Years have passed and my son has grown

And now has a wife and child of his own.

He goes to war, as did I.

Is it his turn to also die?

How many bodies will lie upon foreign ground

Before Man realizes his ignorance and turns around?

Their souls in Hell will surely burn,

If Mankind soon does not learn

That to stop blood spilling upon the land

Christ must rule the heart of every man.

Dear Lord, end this madness, so no more of my brood

Will meet their end by a means so crude!

Pour Thy wrath upon this sinful show

So widows’ and orphans’ tears no longer flow.

One Response to “A Statistic’s Prayer”

  1. Renard Moreau Says:

    [ Smiles ] A very impressive poem!

Leave a Reply

