Captain John West 1-2-70

May 18, 2013


Inscription

On a copper band.

The name of a brother

In enemy land.

I know nothing

About you or your kin

Nor anything about in which

Part of Hell you have been.

I jockey a truck

Not far from my home,

While you bravely face

Your ordeal alone.

While thousands of miles separate us

And to others you are only a name,

I feel a bond of brotherhood

Between us just the same.

For my mind and heart

Shall not rest till the day

You are returned to your loved ones

And this band is stowed away.

Leave a Reply

