God Is In The House!

October 9, 2013


“Strangely enough, one of those times I me God, one of those times which became to me a veritable Bethel, a true house of God, was when under strong temptation and serious threats of denominational men, I decided I must be true to my convictions. I must oppose modernism and evolutionary teaching in Baylor University where I had graduated and where my teacher, Dr. Dow, had been a bone of contention because of his teaching of evolution.Facing threats that I would be blackballed and branded and that I would never be invited to hold revivals, that I would have no chance as an evangelist, I told God that if I were serving a God who could not look after His preachers unless they kowtowed to the leaders, unless they sought to please men and played politics with the brethren I would leave His service.But I told Him that I was willing to risk everything to prove that the God who called me would care for me.Oh, what a day of decision!The friends of a lifetime I lost overnight.I was a marked man, branded man.”– John R. Rice, “Come Back To Bethel”, written in 1958.Copyright 1962, Sword of the Lord Publishers.

Oh, that I and many of my brethren would take such a stand. We do so many things to appease men so that we might be able to achiever some level of success in ministry when the only one we need please is Christ. We seek their will in what schools we will attend and what degrees we will get instead of seeking God who may be pleased to use us as an Amos or an unlearned fisherman that people will note that we have been with Jesus. There is more power and fruit in that than in a thousand degrees and the right references.

 In case you did not know, Dr. Rice went on to pastor and had a very fruitful revival and evangelistic ministry for many years as well as a college professor. Take your stand for that indeed will be a Bethel in your life. The house of God may not always be full of your mentors and brethren, but if it is a house of God, He will fill it and you! Marantha!

Leave a Reply

