Filthy Lucre

January 12, 2014


How time flies.  I just realized that I have been answering questions on http://www.allexperts.com since June 7, 2003.  I have answered 520 questions and could have set up a donation button after answering 100 questions and served two years.  I seriously doubt that I would have answered 520 if I had set up the donation button.

If I had still gotten that many questions I doubt I would have received too many donations.  People asked me more insurance questions after I left the career field than they did when I was selling insurance.  They are like that with theological issues as well.  They will play the lottery and spend money on many things but they frown on paying their pastor or get mad if he preaches on money.

1 Cor 9:13-15

13 Do ye not know that they which minister about holy things live of the things of the temple? and they which wait at the altar are partakers with the altar?
14 Even so hath the Lord ordained that they which preach the gospel should live of the gospel.
15 But I have used none of these things: neither have I written these things, that it should be so done unto me: for it were better for me to die, than that any man should make my glorying void.  KJV

I am glad that most of my ministry has been volunteer, though that has hurt me when looking for a place of ministry.  Some have felt that if I was not worth a salary then I was not worth much. I thought it would show I was not wanting filthy lucre.  (Titus 1:7) I even offered a church once to take a lower salary than they offered and I guess they thought I was crazy.

When I was saved all I ever heard was that preachers were just in it for the money.  I have known many pastors and other ministers that are paid very poorly and some who finance their own ministry by working a job as well as pastoring.  Like Paul, I can give glory to God because no one can say that about me.  Even when I was a FT pastor I found out, by accident, that I was the second largest giver to the church and I went back to work to keep them from going under.

I hope in a few months to be in a position to do some sort of fulltime ministry.  If they offer a stipend that is OK, but if God grants me the ability I will not let the lack of a salary deter me if that is where God wants me.  I do not need a $5 mill house or a plane, just a place to serve.

http://www.allexperts.com/ep/954-52990/Baptists/Dr-Ronald-E-Shultz.htm

 

Leave a Reply

