At The Cross CCM Style

February 22, 2016


One of the main complaints about CCM from the Old School is the repetition, yet it is in all the old hymns as well.  It is just laid out differently.   In the original “At The Cross” hymn with six verses the refrain is repeated six times.  Yes, there are some songs that might be called a mantra of sorts, but repetition in itself is not a valid complaint by the old hymn lovers.  We are not to use vain repetition in our prayers and some would say it should not be in worship either but then from what we know in Isaiah 6 the seraphim repeat holy three times and maybe that is what they do day and night. That is a lot of repetition if that is the case.

I like the old hymns, but I must say none of them have ever had me on my knees or face weeping for my failures or worshiping Him for His love and grace that brought salvation down to man like the CCM songs that I have heard from the 70’s.  Keith Green tapes were worn out and I have great love for many of the artists I hear at church, Pandora and YouTube.   I do love Chris Tomlin’s rendition of the hymn.

I have laid out the old hymn in a format that Isaac might have used if he lived today!

At The Cross by Isaac Watts if he were here today

Alas! and did my Savior bleed
And did my Sovereign die?
Would He devote that sacred head
For sinners such as I?

Thy body slain, sweet Jesus, Thine—
And bathed in its own blood—

While the firm mark of wrath divine,
His Soul in anguish stood.

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away,
It was there by faith I received my sight,
And now I am happy all the day!

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away,
It was there by faith I received my sight,
And now I am happy all the day!

Was it for crimes that I had done
He groaned upon the tree?
Amazing pity! grace unknown!
And love beyond degree!

Well might the sun in darkness hide
And shut his glories in,
When Christ, the mighty Maker died,
For man the creature’s sin.

It was there by faith I received my sight,
And now I am happy all the day!

It was there by faith I received my sight,
And now I am happy all the day!

Thus might I hide my blushing face
While His dear cross appears,
Dissolve my heart in thankfulness,
And melt my eyes to tears.

But drops of grief can ne’er repay
The debt of love I owe:
Here, Lord, I give my self away
’Tis all that I can do.

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away,

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away,

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away,

At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light,
And the burden of my heart rolled away,
It was there by faith I received my sight,
And now I am happy all the day!
Words: Isaac Watts (1707)

 

Leave a Reply

