Just A Member

August 28, 2016


Ephesians 4:
11 And he gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers;
12 For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ:
 
I was pondering for some reason about credentials and such that are required for ministry and for ministerial staff I can see some need for that to help keep out the crazies. However, that doesn’t always work as there are crazies in full time ministry.
 
Yet, not having any has it advantages as well. I remember doing neighborhood evangelism by myself one day and the fellow that answered the door asked if I was the pastor. I said no. He asked if I was a deacon. I said no. He asked if I was a Sunday School teacher and I said no. He then asked, “Who are you then?” I pondered a second or two and I said I guess I am just a member. “Just a member!”. he exclaimed.
 
I had not thought about it at the time, but the perception of many folks is that only people with a title do ministry. After all, the pastor wants to fill the pews, the teacher their class, the deacon is doing his duty and the treasurer wants to fill the coffers or at least they surmise. Members don’t do anything but attend and give a few bucks.
 
I had more impact on people’s life insurance plans and goals after I quit that job than I ever did when trying to sell insurance even though I told them the same things as when I was an agent. The difference was I stood to gain nothing by it and people were more relaxed.
 
Just a member will have a greater impact on the neighborhood than a titled person because people will think that your church must really be something if you are talking about it and out seeking people to come to it. They will most likely spend more time listening to you at the door or wherever you meet them then with the pastor or other staff.
 
Just a member just may be one of the best tools for your ministry. So don’t leave ministry up to the staff. There are people out there that would shut them down in a heartbeat but will listen to you. You may gain a new member for your church, but better yet you may gain a new brother or sister in Christ that will get saved instead of shutting the door on the pastoral staff and stay lost.
 
Dear Lord, may you raise up many church members to do the work of the ministry to bring people to Christ. The staff needs all the help they can get and it was the task you assigned to the members so may they fulfill their duty in joy. Amen!
Leave a Reply

