Bend Me, Shape Me!

April 1, 2017


“Bend me, shape me any way you want me long as you love me it’s all right
Bend me, shape me any way you want me you got the power to turn on the light” = The American Breed, 1967

Those words to that old song that I sang many times as a teenager brought something else to mind.  Is it not odd how that we will allow a friend, spouse, co-worker or boss bend us to their will?

You may feel like you have little choice when it comes to a co-worker or boss because you need the job.  A close friend is hard to find so you bend a lot to keep that friendship.  A spouse or in the case of the song, a lover, can literally bend and shape you to their will because you are in love.

One who loves you back may do some bending and shaping for your good because they love you however they could as easily just be playing you and manipulating you because they love themselves far more than they love you.   The fellow says that she “makes this beggar a king” and later in the song, “I’ll give you all that I own.”  That is a lot of power over a person.

Isa 64:8 But now, O LORD, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand.

While we often become putty or clay in the hands of some person, we forget the only one that has such a right to that power is God.  When He seeks to shape us we often rebel yet He wants to make us holy because He loves us.  He does not do any bending or shaping for our hurt.  People will use and abuse us.  He will not.

Too many people marry the perfect person and then spend the rest of their life trying to bend and shape that person into their image.  That never really works.  Instead of doing that pray that God will bend and shape both of you into His image.  That will make both of you better.  It will give you a marriage you cannot even imagine at this point if you will allow Him to do that.

John 8:12 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

There is no light without Him.  If you are not saved, you are walking in darkness no matter how much a person may seem to have the power to turn on the light for you.  Light comes into your life when He comes into your life.  It is amazing how the light comes on when you ask Him to save you or if you are saved to truly let Him bend and shape you.

When we are not saved, we are beggars ruined and impoverished by sin.  When we are saved, He does take us beggars and makes us Princes and Princesses in His Kingdom because we are children of God through Christ.  You give all you have to someone, God or the devil.  There is no middle ground.  Why give it all to the devil or yourself when that never satisfies and only ends in disaster and Hell?  Give it all to the One who gave it to you anyway!  Let Him have it and turn you into a masterpiece instead of falling to pieces by serving the taskmasters of the lust of the eye, lust of the flesh and the pride of life that are controlled by the devil?

Ready to turn it over?   Then pray something like this.  Lord Jesus, I have been bent and shaped by sin and I want to turn from my own ways and allow you to mold my life.  I believe you are the Son of God who came to die for me on the Cross to pay for my sins.  Please forgive me and take over my life moving me from darkness to light.  Make me a child of God and make me like You.  I want the Holy Spirit to guide my life into what is true and to enable me to live a holy life pleasing to You.  Thank You for saving me.  Amen.

If you said it a bit differently, it is alright.  What is important is the truth.  Jesus sees the heart.  If you sincerely asked Christ to save you then He did and the Holy Spirit has moved in. He will give you gifts and abilities to serve God and teach you what you need to know.  He speaks through the Bible, but as you develop a relationship with Jesus you will also hear a still small voice and sometimes a loud one if you are not listening to Him.

Read the Bible.  I strongly urge you to find a word for word translation, not an easy read one.

Pray!  You do not have to be fancy.  Talk to Him as a Father in loving respect.  Did not have a good earthly father relationship?  Then speak with Him like a best friend, because He is the best friend you will ever have.

Find a good church that still believes in the Bible.  Some do not.  Ask the Holy Spirit to tell you as soon as you walk in the door whether you should stay or not.  I would recommend an Assembly of God church.  There are many that I cannot recommend at all.  You can email me for further recommendations based on what is available in your location, but no matter what the name is on the building still ask God for discernment.  Some with a name are good and some with the same name are not.  May God lead you to the one where you can grow in Him the best!  Maranatha!

Leave a Reply

