Deep End

August 1, 2017


You say that you are my friend
But I’ve gone off the deep end.
I was drowning in the kiddie pool
Being such a crazy blasted fool.
Fussing at and cussing out everyone
Instead of leading them to God’s Son.

Refrain/Chorus

I’m goin’ off the deep end!
I’m goin’ off the deep end!
Where God’s love and mercy flows!
Where my soul and spirit grows!
I’m goin’ off the deep end!
Yeah, give me the deep end!

I’m tired of judging the outside
Instead of loving the soul inside!
When we are laid in that old cold sod
We won’t be happy that we played God!
We may find that we did not make it at all
Or all our wonderful works are really straw.

Refrain

I won’t lose any of my sleep
Because you say I am too deep!
I can’t stand to be shallow
Or leaving my fields fallow!
I need to lose the rocks and stones
O God give life to these dry bones

Refrain

Even though I am somewhat old school
I cannot live in the kiddie pool.
I hate the old drama and silly strife
Jesus lead me into your full life!
Let the Spirit take you to His school!
Go deeper inside the holy pool!

Refrain

It is time to dump the old me!
So the new man is truly free!
No more of the Pharisaical jaw
Spouting free grace but practicing the law!
Leave the old kiddie pool behind!
Come into the deep end! It’s fine!

Refrain X2 fading

2/4/16

Leave a Reply

